More news

More news

Senior Anton Barybin nominated for Rhodes, Marshall Scholarships

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas has nominated six current seniors and a recent graduate for prestigious fellowships for study in the United Kingdom with the support of the university’s Office of Fellowships.  

Professor Misha Barybin named 2021 Chancellors Club Teaching Professor

LAWRENCE — KU Endowment has announced the recipients of the 2021 Chancellors Club Teaching Professorships. The honorees are health care educators at the KU School of Medicine-Wichita and KU School of Nursing and professors of geophysics and chemistry at KU’s Lawrence campus.  

Program manager pivotal to success of KU research centers

Gathering and consolidating the required materials for a 400-page proposal is no easy feat. But Cady Bush managed the massive task expertly for a recent submission — one of many accomplishments that chemistry professor Susan Lunte credits for the continued success of her research center.

Professor Jon Tunge named first Richard S. Givens Chair in Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry is thrilled to announce that Professor Jon Tunge has been named the first Richard S. Givens Chair of Chemistry.  Professor Tunge was selected based on his continued excellence in all three areas of research, teaching, and service.  He will hold the Chair for a three-year…

Shih-I Chu (2021)

The Chemistry Department regrets to announce the passing of Emeritus Professor Shih-I Chu, who died unexpectedly on August 7, 2021 in Taipei at the age of 78. Shih-I was the Watkins Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at KU and the Director of the Kansas Center for Advanced Scientific Computing.…

Congratulations to our 2021 Chemistry Summer Scholars!

Summer 2021 marked the beginning of a new scholarship program - the KU Chemistry Summer Scholars. The Summer Scholars program helped recognize and honor outstanding graduate research in the Department of Chemistry. Along with the title of Summer Scholar, each scholar received a generous summer…

Claire Dopp, Emma Cosner among students receiving Undergraduate Research Awards (UGRAs)

Two chemistry majors, Emma Cosner and Claire Dopp, have each received Undergraduate Research Awards (UGRAs) for Summer 2021. As part of the award, they each receive $1,000 scholarships to work on research projects in chemistry under the mentorship of associate professor James Blakemore.

In the Midst of an Award-Winning Year, KU Chemist Reflects on Her Life's Work

LAWRENCE — For Kristin Bowman-James, the answer to what inspires her continued inquiry is simple: She loves chemistry. So deep is her adoration that she has devoted nearly half a century to research, teaching, mentoring and service in the field.

Chemistry Department Awards and Scholarships for Spring and Summer 2021

LAWRENCE — The Department of Chemistry at the University of Kansas recently recognized the academic and research achievements of its students by awarding over $160,000 in awards and scholarships.  

Daryle Busch (1928-2021)

It is with great sadness that the Department of Chemistry reports the passing of Emeritus Distinguished Professor Daryle H.

Media Contacts

To update the Media Contacts, you will need to edit the "Media Contacts" section in the footer section of the News view. Please note that only site admins have the ability to edit it.

Edit Media Contacts

Elizabeth Coleman
Executive Program Associate