• Home
  • Chemistry Departmental Seminar

Chemistry Departmental Seminar

Friday, 3:30 pm, 1001 Malott (unless listed below-no seminar is scheduled)  

January 27, 2017
Dr. Kayode Oshin, Creighton University, Nebraska
"Copper-Olefin Interactions & Kinetic Studies in Atom Transfer Radical Addition (ATRA) Reactions"
Host: James Blakemore

February 3, 2017
Dr. Tristan Lambert, Columbia University, New York
"Aromatics as Organic Superatoms:  Building Blocks for Catalyst Design"
Host: Michael Clift

March 10, 2017
Dr. Eike Bauer, University of Missouri, St. Louis
"Ruthenium-and Iron-catalyzed Transformation of Propargylic Alcohols"
Host: Michael Clift

March 17, 2017
Dr. Hannah Sevian, University of Massachusetts, Boston
"Development of Students' Chemical Thinking"
Host: Brian Laird

March 31, 2017
Prof. Joel Eaves, University of Colorado, Boulder
"Aqueous Flow through Two-Dimensional Crystals"
Host: Chris Elles

April 11, 2017 - Dains Memorial Lecture
130 Budig Hall - 4:00 P.M.
Jeffrey Scott Johnson, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

A. Ronald Gallant Distinguished Professor
"Development of New Reactions for Organic Synthesis"
Host: Paul Hanson

April 14, 2017 - Werner Lecture
Dr. Mary J. Wirth, Purdue University, Indiana

"Advances in protein separations: smaller particles and better surfaces"
Host: Sue Lunte

April 21, 2017
Dr. V. Ramamurthy, University of Miami, Florida

"Chemistry in a Capsule:  Controlling Excited State Processes through Confinement and Weak Interactions"
Host: Richard Givens

April 28, 2017 - ACS Awards Ceremony & Lecture
KS Union, Big 12 Room - 4:00pm
Prof. Greg M. Swain, Michigan State University, Michigan

"Boron-Doped Diamond and Tetrahedral Amorphous Carbon:  Next-Generation Electrodes for Electroanalysis"
Host: David Benson and Sue Lunte

May 2, 2017 (Tuesday) - Davidson Lecture
1001 Malott Hall at 4:00 P.M.
Professor Michael D. Fayer, Stanford University, California

"Dynamics of Monolayers on Silica, Gold, and the Air/Water Interface"
Host: Ward Thompson


Chemistry department receives more than $6 million in research grants annually
14 chemistry faculty members have NSF CAREER Awards
Longest-running chemistry Research Experience for Undergraduates in the nation
Connect with KU Chemistry
    LInked In Logo