• Home
  • Chemistry Students Receive Undergraduate Research Award

Chemistry Students Receive Undergraduate Research Award

Friday, January 18, 2013

Erin Reid, senior chemistry major and member of the Sue Lunte Research Group.Erin’s research project is titled "Separation optimization of L-DOPA and its metabolites using microchip electrophoresis with electrochemical detection".  She will receive $1,000 to support her research.Congratulations to Erin for this recognition of her achievements in research!

George Holtzen, senior majoring in chemistry and Spanish and member of the Michael Rubin Research Group. His research project is titled“Organo-Catalytic Application of Cyclopropenes as Prochiral Enamine Precursors,” a study using organo-catalytic techniques to synthesize products; research mentor: Michael Rubin, Department of Chemistry.

Ryan Limbocker, sophomore majoring in chemistry and a member of the Michael Johnson Research Group  is working on the “Constructing Parameters for the Optimization of 6-OHDA Lesioned Rats as a Model of ADHD to Establish a Paradigm for Future Research,” project, a study seeking to establish research criteria for using rats to develop new drugs to treat ADHD; research mentor: Michael Johnson, Department of Chemistry.

For additional Undergraduate Research Award winners and their research project information, see KU News Release.

Chemistry department receives more than $8.5 million in research grants annually
14 chemistry faculty members have NSF CAREER Awards
Longest-running chemistry Research Experience for Undergraduates in the nation
Connect with KU Chemistry
Facebook  Twitter  Linked In Logo  YouTube