Chemistry Department - Division of Duties - Fall 2021


CategoryNameEmail PhoneOffice numberJob DutiesTitleDept. 
Human ResourcesCody Browncody.brown@ku.edu  785-864-0904 Working remotely/
Strong Hall SSC
Hiring Post-Docs, Faculty and Research Staff; Onboarding; Appointment Maintenance HR CoordinatorStrong Hall SSC
Human ResourcesAmy Rooneyarooney04@ku.edu 785-864-1686 Working remotely/
Strong Hall SSC
HR Pay issues (Time & Leave); Hiring student hourlies; Hiring Administrative StaffHR SpecialistStrong Hall SSC
Visa issues-

Contact International

Support Services

iss@ku.edu785-864-3617Strong Hall, Room 2F-1, J-1 Visa support; Applying for a Visa; Travel questionsEmergency After Hours Phone: 785-380-8937 
FinanceJessica Newmanj893n638@ku.edu785-864-0882 Working remotely/
Strong Hall SSC
Budget and Reports for Chemistry; Budget and Reports for ISB/GL Storeroom;  Billing and ReceivablesFinancial AnalystStrong Hall SSC
FinanceRick Huettenmuellersscfinancechem@ku.edu 785-864-4271 Working remotely/
Strong Hall SSC
Purchase Order requests; FedEx, UPS and other shipping accounts;  Travel requests & Reimbursements;
Invoice Payments; general questions about placing an order, funds, travel, GRF, F&A, etc.
Accounting SpecialistStrong Hall SSC
FinanceGretchen Hatfieldsscfinancechem@ku.edu 785-864-4483Working remotely/
Strong Hall SSC
Purchase Order requests; FedEx, UPS and other shipping accounts;  Travel requests & Reimbursements;
Invoice Payments; general questions about placing an order, funds, travel, GRF, F&A, etc.
Accounting SpecialistStrong Hall SSC
Research/
Grant Administration
Beth Benfieldbknapik@ku.edu  785-864-3522 Working remotelyAward Setup, Modifications & Adjustments; Project Closeout; Award Monitoring; Allowability Review and ExpendituresGrant Coordinator Senior KUCR
ISB/GL Facility ManagerLaurie Whitelauriewhite@ku.edu785-864-0354 or
435-713-5351
1140K GLISB/GL keys; ISB/GL conference rooms reservations; ISB/GL building issues & communications; USPS Mail & mailboxesISB/GL Facility ManagerKUCR
MRB Facility ManagerAnn Smithannsmith@ku.edu785-864-7271100A MRBMRB keys; MRB conference rooms; MRB building issues & communications; USPS Mail, FedEx, UPS, etc. & mailboxesMRB Facility ManagerKUCR
ISB/GL StoreroomDonnie Scottdscott@ku.edu785-864-7451 or
785-864-3488
B010 GL
(GL Stockroom)
Deliveries/shipping for FedEx, UPS, etc.; Alcohol (Ethanol); Dry ice; Cylinders; Storeroom purchasesISB/GL StorekeeperChemistry
Graduate Students Avery Meadowsaimeadows@ku.edu785-864-82871140N GL3G appointments (GTA & GRA appointments); Graduate Recruiting & Admissions; Graduate Students Awards & Scholarships; Graduate course catalog; Main support for all PhD & MS studentsGraduate Advisor COGA
Undergraduate StudentsTBA782-864-35001140A GL &
Malott
Advisor for all chemistry BA, BS and minors
(also advises Physics & Astronomy and Biology majors)
Undergraduate Advisor CASS
IT Support
(8am-5pm M-F)

John Clune,

Jason Johnson &

Alan Feltz

tsc_chem@ku.edu785-864-50051140M GLTechnology support center for Chemistry & PhysicsIT Support Coordinator
& Techicians
KU IT
Classroom IT Support
(Gray-Little Hall only)
Matt Ochsmochs@ku.edu785-864-07561140L GLTechnology support for classrooms in GL Hall/ISBIT Support Technician SeniorKU IT
IT Support
(after hours)
 itcsc@ku.edu785-864-8080 Evening and weekend technology support KU IT
Office ManagerLiz Colemanelizabethm@ku.edu785-864-43331140E GLScheduling Officer; Website (chem.ku.edu); Social Media; Academic Misconduct; Grievances;  Sabbaticals; Faculty Evals (P&T, annual reviews, etc.); safety and general chemistry issuesOffice ManagerChemistry
Administrative
Support
Elaine Knighteknight@ku.edu785-864-46701140 GL  Front OfficeClassroom reservation requests; Printing and Copying requests; MFD (i.e. copiers) maintenance; Shred-It; REU Program; Chemistry Dept. seminars; Seminar reimbursements Administrative AssistantChemistry
Administrative
Support
Lindsey Roelindseyp@ku.edu785-864-41601140D GLTBA  Chemistry
Administrative
Support
TBA 785-864-48991140 GL Cubicle ATBA  
Communication Specialist
& Student Assistant
Nicole Marie Konopelkonicolekonopelko@ku.edu785-864-52061140 GL Cubicle BTBA  
Chemistry ChairRobert Dunnrdunn@ku.edu785-864-4673 or
 785-864-4313
1140F/G GLBudget; KUEAChair & ProfessorChemistry
Undergraduate LabsRoderick Blackrsblack@ku.edu785-864-34812142D GLUndergrad Chemistry lab issuesDirector of LaboratoriesChemistry
Course DemosJill Headrickheadrick@ku.edu785-864-36772142B GLDemonstrations for chemistry coursesLaboratory Program DirectorChemistry
Organic LabsMarina Rubinmrubin3@ku.edu785-864-15743142D GLOrganic Chemistry lab issuesDirector of LaboratoriesChemistry
Analytical & Physical LabsTravis Wittetmwitte@ku.edu785-864-39033152D GLAnalytical & Physical Chemistry lab issuesDirector of LaboratoriesChemistry
Ralph N. Adams Institute
for Bioanalytical Chemistry
Cady Bushcbush@ku.edu785-864-2342100B MRBSupports Prof. Susan Lunte & Adams InstituteProgram ManagerAdams Institute
Center for BioModular
Multi-scale Systems (CBM2)
Lindsey Roelindseyp@ku.edu785-864-41602183 GLSupports Prof. Steven Soper & CBM2Administrative AssistantCBM2